My QA transition - Episode 1

Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

My QA transition - Episode 1

I was speaking to a Software developer friend about transitioning to tech early this year and how that I wanted to venture into Quality Assurance Testing and he said "it suits you, because you have a critical eye and looks into things keenly" I simply smiled.

I then started to source for materials and videos and learning began. Along the line, a saw the advert for the SideHustle 5.0 internship and I decided to apply. I got the internship and active learning started.

The internship lasted for 6 weeks and I was fortunate enough to have a good mentor (Muyideen Jimoh) who was already to break things down for easy understanding especially for newbies like me. But mind you, it was a hassle and that was when I discovered that working on a career change while on an 8 - 5 job is one the most difficult things to do. I had projects that I could not meet up with but I keep pressing forward.

The 6 weeks (April to May 2022) internship covered the following. • Quality assurance methods and framework. • Types of testing and test case documentation for mobile and web applications, and manual testing. • Quality assurance testing tools. Such as Selenium, Jira etc. • Introduction to Java programming. • Automation testing using Appium, API testing using Postman.

The internship ended on a good note and I decided to continue learning and registered for the bootcamp where I actively started to implement all I have learnt 💃.

I do not want this to be a long read so, I'll end this here.

To be continued....